40 replies to this topic

#1 Mynameisluka

Mynameisluka

Comptroller of Brownies

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 24773 posts

Posted 25 May 2010 - 07:40 AM

Hey, I am just getting into brewing my own, and I have opted to primarily keg most of my beer. I recently bought a keg from Midwest Supplies after shopping around and figuring out that they were a pretty good source. However, the keg came in pretty bad shape. There's quite a bit of rust on the outside (it looks like somebody was welding close to the keg and some welding material splashed on the keg). It has a lot of scratches on the inside, like somebody used sandpaper in it. In addition to the scratches on the inside, there's some sort of stain that will not come out, even after soaking overnight in oxiclean. I also noticed that the keg was not cleaned with caustic soda like they claim. This was apparent because it was a Dr. Pepper keg and there was most definitely Dr. Pepper in the keg. I recently noticed that Midwest Supplies has added a message on their site that says:"Note: we have a new supplier of soda kegs. Most kegs from our new supplier have stickers on them and have not had extensive cleaning to the outside of the keg. As with most "used" soda kegs we recommend that you thoroughly clean the keg inside and out. Goo Gone, Scotch Brite pads, and elbow grease will take care of any stickers on the outside of kegs should you wish to remove them."I am not sure if this has anything to do with the crappy keg I got, but I don't want to take my chances anymore. Interestingly enough, I began looking around online and noticed that several other sites have recently added similar messages. Have any of you bought used kegs recently, and if so, where from? I am going to purchase a couple of additional kegs in the near future, and I want to make sure that I get good ones.

#2 Mynameisluka

Mynameisluka

Comptroller of Brownies

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 24773 posts

Posted 25 May 2010 - 07:43 AM