40 replies to this topic

#1 Big Nake

Big Nake

Comptroller of Forum Content

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 54135 posts

Posted 10 September 2009 - 10:31 AM

I have been seeing people talk about Magnum hops... how clean they are and can be used as a Noble hop but with higher AA%, which sounds great. I stopped into one of the LHBSs today and found some Yakima Magnum hops at 14.4%. Are these the same hop? Is Yakima Magnum the same as Magnum only it's grown in the US? I have an Altbier coming up where I was going to use 7.3 AAU of Tradition, but now I wonder if half an ounce (7.2 AAU) of these would be better. Whatcha think beerheads?

#2 *_Guest_Blktre_*

*_Guest_Blktre_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 September 2009 - 10:54 AM

Pretty much nailed it. As easy as it is to get Gr. i always stick with those. It at least makes me feel better at least.I have been using Magnums in Alts for at least 3 years now. Since they are so clean it just makes sense to use alot less on the front end and save the lower AA Nobles for later. For Dussy's, i do a 60, 30 Magnum addition. Makes life alot easier and nobody can tell or ever know.

Edited by Blktre, 10 September 2009 - 10:59 AM.

#3 Humperdink

Humperdink

Cose

• In Memorium
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 15798 posts

Posted 10 September 2009 - 11:00 AM