#1 ncbeerbrewer

ncbeerbrewer

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2210 posts
  • LocationRaleigh NC

Posted 16 July 2009 - 01:42 PM

Ok this is my first attempt and time to brew a Vienna. I have not used this malt much other than in APA and IPA as a small portion of the base grains. I have put this recipe together and looking at it I see that my color is lighter than Beersmith suggests. How should I darken it up? What are the thoughts on hopping schedule and grains? Since this is a first attempt my goal is to just brew a quality style/type Vienna Lager. I choose 2308 as my yeast as I think its a fabulous yeast and hoped to use it and step it up for an Ofest and my Maibock as well. Thanks for the suggestions. Meet me in Vienna Vienna Lager Type: All Grain Batch Size: 5.25 galBoil Size: 7.11 gal Boil Time: 60 min Equipment: Brew Pot (15 Gal) and Igloo/Gott Cooler (10 Gal) Taste Rating(out of 50): 35.0 Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 Taste Notes: Ingredients Amount Item Type % or IBU 5.75 lb Vienna Malt (3.5 SRM) Grain 57.50 % 3.75 lb Pilsner (2 Row) Ger (2.0 SRM) Grain 37.50 % 0.50 lb Caramunich Malt (56.0 SRM) Grain 5.00 % 2.25 oz Hallertauer [3.00 %] (60 min) Hops 23.0 IBU 1 Pkgs Munich Lager (Wyeast Labs #2308) Yeast-Lager Beer Profile Est Original Gravity: 1.052 SGBitterness: 23.0 IBU Est Color: 7.5 SRM Mash Profile Mash Name: Single Infusion, Light Body, No Mash Out Total Grain Weight: 10.00 lb Sparge Water: 5.99 gal Grain Temperature: 72.0 F Sparge Temperature: 168.0 F TunTemperature: 72.0 F Adjust Temp for Equipment: FALSE Mash PH: 5.4 PH Single Infusion, Light Body, No Mash Out Step Time Name Description Step Temp 75 min Mash In Add 3.13 gal of water at 161.4 F 150.0 F

#2 MtnBrewer

MtnBrewer

Skynet Architect

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6695 posts
  • LocationThe Springs

Posted 16 July 2009 - 01:59 PM