#1 jeffdj

jeffdj

ROC Star

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • LocationRochester, NY

Posted 27 February 2012 - 11:18 AM

I'm finally getting around to updating my bar to complete my basement finishing project. Had the last week off, so I began making what will eventually cover the chest freezer. My plan is to have it be a walk up bar, where the kegerator is against the back wall and surrounded by nice cabinetry. It will take some time, but wanted to share what I've accomplished so far.Here is the original bar. I started by putting casters under it so I can pull it out of the cabinetry to change kegs, etc.Posted ImageNext I made the front from oak ply and oak 1x4sPosted ImageThen I made a rail by shaping two 1x4's and gluing them together, then much sanding. I shaped the bigger cove by dragging the 1x4 across the table saw blade using multiple passes and raising the blade each time. Something I've never done before, but am happy with the results (considering how much I'd have to spend to buy the rail premade)Posted Image Posted ImageAnd here is what it will somewhat look like assembled. I plan to use a dark finish to match the floor of the basement. I am waiting for my new drip tray (which will be flush mounted) to arrive before I can go any further.Posted Image Thanks for looking!Jeff

#2 Big Nake

Big Nake

Comptroller of Forum Content

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 54185 posts

Posted 27 February 2012 - 12:03 PM

Jeff: I have great respect for those who have the vision and the talent to pull that off. Design-wise, I'm a straight guy with the beer-eye so my creativity suffers and I usually have to steal an idea and then try to make it work because I am not that handy. That thing is going to be BEE-YOU-TI-FUL when you're done. Heading out to Rochester in a few weeks to look at your handiwork and sample your beers. Get Ready! :lol:

#3 Genesee Ted

Genesee Ted

yabba dabba doob

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 49865 posts
  • LocationRochester, NY