#1 johnpreuss

johnpreuss

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1460 posts
  • LocationWay Up North Minnesota

Posted 18 February 2012 - 08:49 PM

I've been brewing now for several years and have started to really appreciate the simple brew. Base malt, one or two specialty malts, a bittering hop and depending on style a flavor/aroma hop. The yeast is where I may make my alterations. But seriously my favorite brews as of late have been American or British Pales/Bitters looking something like this:Pale MaltC60-C150 (1lb or less)Maybe, Just MAYBE some wheat for head retentionBitter with what ever, then finish with C Hops or Goldings depending on styleOr a small belgian:Pale/Pils MaltLittle Munich or ViennaPick an appropriate hopAnd I'm sure if I could lager it'd would be most likely:Pils/ViennaSomething Noble for a hopI'm no genius, nor am I some huge award winning brewer but the simplistic brews seem to taste the best to me!my 2 cents

#2 Genesee Ted

Genesee Ted

yabba dabba doob

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 49863 posts
  • LocationRochester, NY

Posted 18 February 2012 - 10:19 PM

I am with you there. I very rarely use crystal or caramel malts. They have their place, and I am by no means "anti", but I feel that they are way overused. Beer truly is delicious in simple forms if it is well executed. One of the things that I think a lot of people get caught up on when they start to brew is that they need a lot of different ingredients to get the flavors they want. It all works in their head, but I feel that it comes off muddy. Focus on your technique and you will be rewarded. Some of the best beer I have ever brewed comes from pils, saaz, water, and 3711.

#3 MakeMeHoppy

MakeMeHoppy

Redundancy Comptroller of Redundancy

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10738 posts
  • LocationSlower Lower Delaware

Posted 20 February 2012 - 06:44 AM