6 replies to this topic

#1 The Brew Dude

The Brew Dude

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
  • LocationDenver, CO

Posted 15 June 2009 - 11:55 AM

One of my pyments is approaching target FG. It's hard to get a Hydrometer reading in the tube due to the fizz caused by continued fermentation. Best I can read is 1.026-8.Using Hightest's "clarifying" method, I get a reading of 14B. If I put an OG of 1.120 and a current fermenting Brix of 14, I get an actual SG of 1.017.These readings are 10 points apart.Suspicious, I tested my refractometer with distilled water. It came out at 0B.Which do I trust?

#2 Wayne B

Wayne B

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  • LocationEvergreen, CO

Posted 15 June 2009 - 11:59 AM

I'm not a refractometer expert, so I always trust the hydrometer! :) I think that Hightest will have to answer this.

#3 MtnBrewer

MtnBrewer

Skynet Architect

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6695 posts
  • LocationThe Springs

Posted 15 June 2009 - 12:21 PM

One of my pyments is approaching target FG. It's hard to get a Hydrometer reading in the tube due to the fizz caused by continued fermentation. Best I can read is 1.026-8.Using Hightest's "clarifying" method, I get a reading of 14B. If I put an OG of 1.120 and a current fermenting Brix of 14, I get an actual SG of 1.017.These readings are 10 points apart.Suspicious, I tested my refractometer with distilled water. It came out at 0B.Which do I trust?

Did you also check your hydro w/ distilled water? Sometimes the scale can slip up or down. For what it's worth, I get the same computed gravity that you do. I know how hard it can be getting a good hydro reading when there are bubbles clinging to the hydrometer and for that reason, I think I'd trust the refrax reading more. Did you try spinning the hydro to get the bubbles to let go?

#4 The Brew Dude

The Brew Dude

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
  • LocationDenver, CO

Posted 15 June 2009 - 01:37 PM