15 replies to this topic

#1 Given2fly

Given2fly

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts

Posted 07 June 2009 - 08:54 AM

Will be brewing the following recipe this weekend. This is my first attempt at brewing a Saison, so any feedback is appreciated! I've never used Grains of Paradise before, so I wanted to keep it in the background (i.e., just noticeable), but is 1/3 teaspoon enough. I also know that the yeast strain 3724 is a tough one to work with, but it does sound as if it will ferment out with plenty of time. Let me know what you think!

Malt:
9.00 lbs. Pilsner Malt
1 lb Wheat Malt
1 lb Munich Malt
0.25 lbs. Belgian Caravienne
4 ounces Soft Belgian Candy Sugar (added at flameout)
1 lb Cane Sugar (added during fermentation)

Hops:
1 oz Mt Hood (60 min)
1 oz Mt Hood (2 min)

Adjuncts:
Tablet of Whirfloc (15 min)
1/3 Teaspoon Crushed Grains of Paradise (15 min)

Yeast:
Large Starter of Wyeast 3724 (Belgian Saison)

Mash Specs:
Mash at 148-149F for 60 min
OG: 1.070
Estimated %ABV: ~8% (assuming FG around 1.010 or lower)
IBUS: 31
SRM: 6

Fermentation Schedule:
Start temp at 68F, raise temp slowly to 76F over 10 days
1 lb of Cane Sugar (added gradually over a few days after primary fermentation subsides)

#2 Jimmy James

Jimmy James

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 483 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA

Posted 07 June 2009 - 09:57 AM

There's a lot of room for interpretation in saison recipes so I wouldn't be able to recommend anything specific in terms of your recipe unless you described some flavor/head/mouthfeel/aroma characteristics you are shooting for. I take it from the mash and fermentation schedule you want it dry, which is the one common denominator amongst the commercial saisons I have had, so as far as that goes it looks a-ok. I'd maybe increase the sacch rest to 90 minutes.

#3 ncbeerbrewer

ncbeerbrewer

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2210 posts
  • LocationRaleigh NC

Posted 07 June 2009 - 01:24 PM