35 replies to this topic

#1 laker

laker

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
  • LocationPA

Posted 08 November 2010 - 09:06 PM

A newbie here , can't wait to try a new way of making cider . I live in the country and we always made our cider in a used 50 gal.whiskey barrel , I have a cider mill only a few miles from my house . We would go over to the mill sometimes with our own apples and have them pressed and then they would pump the cider into the barrel which was in the pick up truck . When we got it home and set up in the cellar we would add about 45 pds of white sugar and two ounces of salicylc acid , run a hose to a bottle of water and let it work until spring . It always turned out good never had any problems . What I didn't know was all the other ways of making cider and I wonder why there is no mention of making cider the way I mentioned on any brewing sites. What differences will I see when using yeast and the no boiling method that I see in alot of the recipes , will it be be better or very much the same??

#2 SKubrick

SKubrick

Comptroller of Pissing Matches

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • LocationThe Great State of Idaho

Posted 08 November 2010 - 09:43 PM