66 replies to this topic

#1 Mynameisluka

Mynameisluka

Comptroller of Brownies

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 24773 posts

Posted 10 August 2010 - 07:12 AM

so, i'm still a newbie, and i know this is an age old question that has been addressed. but, i'm hoping for some additional insight that i have not yet found that may sway my decision. i am currently doing extract brews with steeping grains. i have considered moving to all-grain, but i am not sure if it's worth it...at least not for 5 gallon batches. it seems like the biggest taste difference, from what i have read, comes when brewing high gravity beers. since i am no fan of high gravity beer, i am unlikely to brew any. i realize the fact that you can have a lot more control over the final product using all grain. but, is it really worth it considering the large number of various extracts that are available?also, something that i wonder about...how many of you do all-grain for 5 gallon batches? how many of you began doing all-grain for 5 gallon batches and then bumped up to 10 gallon batches? if i ever do move to all-grain, i think i am going to go for a batch size larger than 5 gallons just to help make the additional time required for all-grain more worth it. right now, i can do 2 5 gallon extract batches in about 6 hours, start to finish. from what i have read, i should be able to to 1 10 gallon batch using all-grain in about the same time. that, to me, makes it worth it. especially when you factor in the additional cost savings of doing all-grain.i have considered partial mash, but it seems to me that if i am going to do that i might as well go ahead and do all-grain.what say you brews-bros?

#2 chadm75

chadm75

Frequent Member

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1029 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis, MO

Posted 10 August 2010 - 07:20 AM