#1 mikebrad

mikebrad

Comptroller

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4038 posts
  • LocationDelaware

Posted 30 May 2010 - 07:55 AM

I started brewing about 10 years ago in my college dorm with little more than a pot and a bucket. It was our easiest source of decent beer since we weren't yet old enough to buy it. When I got out of school I kept upgrading my brewery in order to make better and better beer. Ultimately I started brewing all grain with HBA's cooler mash/fly sparge system and I upgraded this a couple years ago to an electric HERMS system. Between all the equipment setup and brewing process my brewdays are starting to feel more like a chore than a hobby. Well I'm a slave to homebrewing no more...I tossed all that crap in the basement and pieced together a Denny-style cooler and batch sparge setup. Since I've never batch sparged before I am a little worried about efficiency, something I never worried about with the fly sparging. Also, with a new mash tun hitting the right temp will probably be different than my old system. I suppose both of those things will just take a try and adjust approach. Tomorrow is the first day of the rest of my brewing life. Wish me luck!

#2 Nick Bates

Nick Bates

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • LocationWestland,Mi

Posted 30 May 2010 - 08:14 AM

Im only on my second all grain my first one I fly-sparged, second one I batch sparged. Efficiency was not a problem at all for me with the batch sparge and a tad easier haha. Good luck with the batch sparge.

#3 Spoon

Spoon

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • LocationLower Alabama

Posted 30 May 2010 - 10:04 AM

Yeah, What you lose in effiency you can make up by adding an extra handful of grain.

#4 Recklessdeck

Recklessdeck

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts
  • LocationLawrence

Posted 30 May 2010 - 10:10 AM