12 replies to this topic

#1 Flashman

Flashman

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • LocationKnoxville, TN

Posted 11 April 2010 - 07:33 PM

I've been brewing for almost three years and I finally did my first all grain batch today. Overall, I think it went well. Gravity ended up a little too high because I boiled off too much and my mash temperature was two degrees lower than what I was shooting for. The only downside was the additional time it took, but even with that, I think I will enjoy all grain brewing more. I even made some dog biscuits with the spent grain when I was done.Anyways...just wanted to say thanks to everyone. I don't post much, but I read this forum religiously, and all the knowledge that I've picked up since I started brewing made the move from extract, to mini-mash, to all-grain pretty easy. :shock:

#2 ncbeerbrewer

ncbeerbrewer

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2210 posts
  • LocationRaleigh NC

Posted 11 April 2010 - 07:52 PM

Congrats Flashman. Sounds like your first AG went pretty well. There are worse problems to have than a higher SG than you projected :shock: Hope your fermentation goes strong. This is a good place with lots of great guys and great advice. Keep on reading and brewing. Cheers!!

#3 SchwanzBrewer

SchwanzBrewer

Grand Duke of Inappropriate Announcements

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 34299 posts
  • LocationKnee deep in business plans

Posted 11 April 2010 - 08:05 PM