16 replies to this topic

#1 gkessing

gkessing

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationArizona

Posted 21 March 2010 - 11:23 AM

Brewers,I am new to brewing. But my first four batches went as expected and came out great. My fifth batch is a little weird and I would like to understand whats going on.I brewed it two weeks ago. Fermentation began as expected and was proceeding at the normal rate of bubbles in the airlock every second or so. After a couple of days the rate slowed to almost nothing so I transferred the beer to the glass carboy. After 3 days in the carboy the top 3/4 looked clear and the bottom 1/4 still looked a bit cloudy. So I let it in the carboy. Now, two weeks after brewing, the entire batch looks cloudy and it bubbles about once every 30 seconds. (Note that two days ago it was a about a bubble every 20 seconds so it slowing.) Note also that the tempature has been a constant 68-70 degrees and it is a Pilsner. So, I have the following questions:Is it still fermenting or is it spoiled?What could cause this?Thanks for help offered.Regards,Gary

#2 Slainte

Slainte

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 400 posts

Posted 21 March 2010 - 11:34 AM

Have you been taking gravity readings?If not, then you should. That's the only reliable way to measure fermentation progress. Airlock bubbles only mean CO2 is escaping, and will continue to occur after fermentation is complete.

#3 MyaCullen

MyaCullen

Cheap Blue Meanie

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68761 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA

Posted 21 March 2010 - 11:43 AM

Have you been taking gravity readings?If not, then you should. That's the only reliable way to measure fermentation progress. Airlock bubbles only mean CO2 is escaping, and will continue to occur after fermentation is complete.

yepthisFull details of your recipe and process would be helpfull alsoamd Welcome to our humble piece of the internet :facepalm:

#4 DaBearSox

DaBearSox

Comptroller of Some Stuff

• Members