#1 Joe

Joe

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 191 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, OH

Posted 16 February 2010 - 08:10 PM

So I have an admission to make. I've been brewing for a total of 6 years. And I'm a water noob. There. I said - it's out. I know jack about water.I have always seen water threads and I've always pretty much ignored them - happy to be brewing in my low tech ignorant kind of way. Heck - I never even measured my mash ph! Just mix it and sparge (the no worries school of brewing). My water tastes good (at least to me) so I just used it. Beer has always tasted just fine, some may even say pretty darn good.And then I read one - a dreaded water thread. And then another. Then I read Palmer's stuff on water analysis. So I had to know - was my mash ph... bad? So I got the numbers from my water supply. Based on the numbers, I shouldn't be brewing anything lighter than a 22 SRM. Yikes! Now that I think about, that last pale ale tasted a little astringent... and that last hydro sample... was that suspended yeast or tannins??? The paranoia becomes rampant... remedied only by (possibly astringent tasting) homebrew.In any case, I'm obviously out of range. So I'm going to pick up some ph strips and some brewing salts and do her right this weekend. Who knows - maybe the beer will be even better. But... I want to make sure I'm doing this right so wanted to see if some of you water guys could just sanity check my additions.I'm brewing Denny's Rye IPA - SRM: 12-13. Only doing 5 gallons this time because, well, that's a lot of grain.Here is my current water analysis (since my water is drawn from any of four wells, this is an average, not exact):Calcium: 98Magnesium: 12CaCO3: 280Sodium: 4Chloride: 8Sulfate: 50This gives me a residual alkalinity of 203 - which puts me in the 22-27 SRM range. (This all based on Palmer's spreadsheet).So, to brew the Rye IPA with an SRM of 12, I need to lower than RA to at least 85 (I'll shoot for 65 to play it safe).To do that, I