#1 Thirsty

Thirsty

Atomic Chef!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2157 posts
  • LocationPhippsburg Maine

Posted 29 January 2010 - 02:40 PM

A few months back I scored a bunch of tanks, some 20# CO2, and some slightly bigger (I think 30-40#) of what I thought was Nitrogen, because of the high pressure regulator and the fact the side says N.O.S. on it. Where I got them from served guinness, so it makes sense. But they had this hooked up to their main line, so it just donned on me that this may be beer mix. After more investigation, there is a sticker on the side that says CO2 124-38-9 NOS 7727-38-9 Anyone know what that means?So now I am thinking this may in fact be a full cylinder of beer mix, not nitro. So as far as I know, beermix is actually preferred as a serving gas, and gives the tighter bubbles, but I have never used it before.So has anyone used this actual mix?What I am trying to find out from others experiences are:1. Can I use it to carb and dispense at the same balanced pressure as I am used to for CO2?2. Can I use this for all styles?3. How does beergunning affect the fill? Is it harder or easier to fill a bottle without foaming?4. How do beergunned bottles age when carbed by the mix- any difference good or bad? I have 4 kegs poring now that have all been carbed by regular CO2, so switching over now is not going to give me the full effect, I will however try carbing my next keg with this, just need to figure out these questions first.

#2 ChefLamont

ChefLamont

Comptroller of Fear

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 9744 posts
  • LocationAtlanta

Posted 29 January 2010 - 03:14 PM