#1 chadm75

chadm75

Frequent Member

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1029 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis, MO

Posted 02 December 2009 - 09:39 AM

Hey guys, I'm new at putting a Pilsner recipe together. Here's my first crack...thoughts? Planning on brewing this weekend...OG - 1.048FG - 1.010IBU - 34SRM - 5ABV - 4.9%9.5 lbs. - Pilsner Malt8 oz. - Crystal 10L8 oz. - Belgian Cara-Pils 2 oz. - Saaz (2.8% AAU) - 60 mins.2 oz. - Saaz (2.8% AAU) - 15 mins.2 oz. - Saaz (2.8% AAU) - 5 mins.WYeast 2278 Czech PilsFerment at 48, lager at 35 for three weeks

#2 ncbeerbrewer

ncbeerbrewer

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2210 posts
  • LocationRaleigh NC

Posted 02 December 2009 - 03:00 PM

Hey guys, I'm new at putting a Pilsner recipe together. Here's my first crack...thoughts? Planning on brewing this weekend... OG - 1.048 FG - 1.010 IBU - 34 SRM - 5 ABV - 4.9% 9.5 lbs. - Pilsner Malt 8 oz. - Crystal 10L 8 oz. - Belgian Cara-Pils 2 oz. - Saaz (2.8% AAU) - 60 mins. 2 oz. - Saaz (2.8% AAU) - 15 mins. 2 oz. - Saaz (2.8% AAU) - 5 mins. WYeast 2278 Czech Pils Ferment at 48, lager at 35 for three weeks

Chad. My only suggestion for your recipe would be to drop the Crystal from your recipe and replace with base malt but keep the Carapils. I just brewed one with a friend and did 10 gallons. I got my recipe from Brewing Classic Styles that Jamil put out and there is just Pilsner base malt and Carapils with Saaz Hops like you show. Good Choice of yeast as one of the 5 gallons here is fermenting with 2278 we tried the Staro 2782 in the other. I would just say drop the Crystal and you are good. Hope that helps. Good Luck with the brew.

#3 chadm75

chadm75

Frequent Member

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1029 posts
  • LocationSt. Louis, MO

Posted 02 December 2009 - 03:11 PM

Thanks NCB! I appreciate the feedback. Since this is my first Pils, I was kinda flying blind. Am shooting for something similar to Urquell...

#4 ncbeerbrewer

ncbeerbrewer

Frequent Member

• Members