Photo
- - - - -

How to get rid of beerstone without Starsan...

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Big Nake

Big Nake

Comptroller of Forum Content

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 53518 posts

Posted 26 March 2019 - 10:26 AM

For years I used Starsan and just dumped some of the solution into the kettle at the end of the brewday... let it soak, scrub it clean and the kettle was ready to go.  I have been using Iodophor now for a few months and I do not have any Starsan in the house.  That doesn't mean I won't use it again someday but for now... what's a good way to clean the kettle?  I assume something acidic since Starsan is acidic.  Vinegar?  A vinegar solution?  Sometimes I see gallons of vinegar at my one grocery store for very cheap.  Any thoughts?

In related news:  The batches made using iodophor have been great and using it is nice.  No foaming.  Yes, it's staining some of the plastic I have used with it.  The smell reminds me of being a newbie brewer.  

#2 neddles

neddles

No Life

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 16522 posts

Posted 26 March 2019 - 10:31 AM

Despite the title I would just get some starsan. Considerably cheaper per gallon than vinegar. Can do double duty as a sanitizer too!

#3 positiveContact

positiveContact

Anti-Brag Queen

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68886 posts
  • LocationLimbo

Posted 26 March 2019 - 10:32 AM

Despite the title I would just get some starsan. Considerably cheaper per gallon than vinegar. Can do double duty as a sanitizer too!

Agreed, also doesn't need rinsing. I wouldn't want residual vinegar in my Brew stuff.

#4 HVB

HVB

No Life

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 18047 posts

Posted 26 March 2019 - 10:37 AM

Acid  5 

https://www.brewhard.../beerstone8.htm

For no foaming sanatizer I just use Sani-clean.  I know you went the way you did because of oxygen but if you go back and do not want foam, I like foam,  there are options.

#5 Big Nake

Big Nake

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip