#1 consumptionjunction

consumptionjunction

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • LocationMiami

Posted 14 October 2009 - 07:51 AM

Usually I tweak other tried-and-true recipes, but this will be the first attempt that I can call my own. I want it to be malty, like a Märzen, but with a bit more bitterness, without all German munich malts, and with either the Wyeast 1056 or 1335 ale yeast (fermented low 60s). But I've never used some of these malts before and heard they can make quite large contributions to flavor in small amounts. I think I'm playing on the safe-side, but if I can push it a little further to get closer to what I'm looking for, I will. Here's the recipe:

Fermentables: 86% (10.75 lbs) Maris Otter 6% (.75 lbs) Weyermann Caramunich II 4% (.5 lbs) Belgian Aromatic Malt 4% (.5 lbs) Weyermann Melanoidin Malt Planning on a single mash infusion at about 152F, and hoping for 6 gallons of 1.060 OG. Hops: 1 oz 5.6 AAU Cascade 60 Min. 1 oz 4.8 AAU Willamette 45 Min. 1 oz 4.8 AAU Willamette 30 Min. About 35 IBUs. BU:GU = .589

Any suggestions?

#2 Jimmy James

Jimmy James

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 483 posts
  • LocationSan Diego, CA

Posted 14 October 2009 - 12:52 PM

Should be plenty of malt flavor with that grist. Do you want it malty like a Maarzen, or more malty? If more like a Maarzen then maybe drop either the melanoidin or aromatic. Any reason you picked a 45 minute addition for Willamette? They are good hops for flavor and aroma additions IMO so I'd drop the 45 min addition and maybe add some at 2 min for aroma. Maybe boost the Cascade to get back to your target of 35 IBU.

#3 consumptionjunction

consumptionjunction

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 104 posts
  • LocationMiami

Posted 14 October 2009 - 08:54 PM