• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 VirginiaBeach

VirginiaBeach

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts

Posted 20 August 2009 - 05:36 PM

OK another question (I'm starting to like this forum)I'm going to brew a batch in a couple days (an Irish Red) and I want to do a starter this time. I've never done one before. Is it necessary to do some calculations to make sure the starter specific gravity will be the same as the wort? Does this make for an easier transition? Or should I just do a 1/2 cup DME in a pint of water? Thanks :cheers:

#2 Brewmasters Warehouse

Brewmasters Warehouse

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 20 August 2009 - 05:39 PM

Your looking for a OG on your starter of around 1.040. This makes it easy to ferment for the yeast, and gives you a good cell count.Ed

#3 3rd party JKor

3rd party JKor

Puller of Meats

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 64099 posts
  • LocationNW of Boston

Posted 20 August 2009 - 06:57 PM

Questions:1.) What's the anticipated OG of your beer?2.) What's the batch volume3.) What are you making your starter in (what size vessel)?4.) Do you have a stirplate?

#4 chuck_d

chuck_d

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1022 posts
  • LocationAtlanta, GA

Posted 20 August 2009 - 07:02 PM

I'm gonna jump in and do my usual "weigh your DME" post when people ask about starters/priming/whatever. Volume can be impacted by how settled your DME is, it's best to weigh your DME rather than measure its volume. Also, as has been mentioned ~1.040 is good for your starter.You should read these two webpages...Mr. Malty's 14 Essential Questions About StartersWhoa.. the Maltose Falcons updated their website and apparently Raines has updated this page... I need to go read it again.https://www.maltosef...s-and-practicesEdit: looks like the content might not really be updated. They have a new site layout and looks like people where resubmitting their articles in the new format.