#1 texred1

texred1

Permanent Comptroller & Pyromaniac

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3683 posts
  • LocationDallas, TX

Posted 03 April 2009 - 03:33 PM

This is going to blow my zero post count in the PH, but I have a question.I have been brewing beer for about 15 years, and since I had an extra carboy laying around I decided to make a wine kit.Followed all the directions and so far everything is going great. (wine is so much easier than beer)Then on Monday of this week, I bottled and for some reason I had trouble with the corks going all the way in. I mean they go in, but they have the huge dimple in them from the corker and maybe a 2-3mm lip sort of sticks up out of the top of the bottle. Is there some sort of technique I am missing out on, or is it just the type of corker I am using (which is a simple Twin Lever Hand Corker)?~d

#2 texred1

texred1

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3683 posts
  • LocationDallas, TX

Posted 03 April 2009 - 04:00 PM

Are you soaking the corks first?

I am going to go with no, I was not aware I needed to soak the corks. I rinsed them off with sanitizer, cause I sanitize everything.How long are they supposed to soak? Wonder why that is not listed in the instructions?~dps. I did the World Vineyards California Zinfandel Shiraz. When I was done bottling there was maybe half a bottle left. My wife drank that pretty quick and said it was good so I think it is going to work out well.

#3 MyaCullen

MyaCullen

Cheap Blue Meanie

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68757 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA

Posted 03 April 2009 - 04:19 PM