#1 Greatfookin

Greatfookin

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • LocationRiver Grove , Illinois

Posted 30 March 2009 - 11:05 AM

I moved this last harvest season, and now have a huge yard, so I am gonna set up a trellis similar to utility poles. I have 7 established crowns in containers, ready to put in the ground.What kind of materials have you had success with????

#2 dnb

dnb

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 30 March 2009 - 11:28 AM

What size twine (diameter) makes a good support for hop bines? This is my first year growing hops and I've got a boat load of rhizomes in hoping at least 50% make it. I just picked up some sisal twine at a local store, its maybe an 1/8th inch diameter if that... more like 1/16th plus thick and its single ply. I'm wondering if I should have went with 1/4" rope maybe :rolf:

#3 MoreAmmoPlz

MoreAmmoPlz

Comptroller of Ivory Powers

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2165 posts
  • LocationMI

Posted 30 March 2009 - 11:36 AM

For poles I ended up going with 4x6x18' because they were the relatively cheapest. For the main support line for the rows I've been using 1/2" aircraft cable. For the twining I've used both binder and sisal but have had much better luck with the binder twine. For some reason the sisal had a high failure rate especially during wind storms.

Edited by OprFilth, 30 March 2009 - 12:04 PM.

#4 Genesee Ted

Genesee Ted

yabba dabba doob

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 49850 posts
  • LocationRochester, NY

Posted 30 March 2009 - 11:57 AM

I am starting my first crop this year and was planning on just running the vines up a short (5 ft or so) post and then running the twine they sell on freshops up to my front porch roof. Simple design, but easy enough to improve on in the future. I am going to plant in the barrel I used for my sour red cut in half and filled with good compost, dirt, etc...

#5 Recklessdeck

Recklessdeck

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 129 posts