24 replies to this topic

#1 Darin

Darin

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts
  • LocationVictorville, CA

Posted 21 August 2010 - 02:14 PM

I understand the batch sparging method and think I might try it for my next brew session. However, my question is - When you batch sparge, are you supposed to add more grain to make up for a possible low extraction? I think it was in John Palmer's book where he said that batch sparging gave lower extraction rates. (?) Am I misunderstanding what he wrote?Thank you for your help.Darin

#2 Big Nake

Big Nake

Comptroller of Forum Content

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 54237 posts

Posted 21 August 2010 - 02:36 PM

Hmm. When I run my recipes through a calculator, I set the efficiency level to 75%. When I was a newbie AG brewer, I used to check my efficiency and I was consistently in the high 70s to low 80s. I have never fly-sparged so I don't have a comparison, but I do not up my grain bill to make up for an assumed lower efficiency. That said, if I put a recipe together that says it will be 5.4% and I end up with a beer that's 5.2%, I really don't care as long as the beer is good... but that's just me. Cheers & good luck with it.

#3 davelew

davelew

Comptroller of ACMSO That Are Not Beans

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 19229 posts
  • LocationReading, Massachusetts

Posted 21 August 2010 - 02:37 PM

I understand the batch sparging method and think I might try it for my next brew session. However, my question is - When you batch sparge, are you supposed to add more grain to make up for a possible low extraction? I think it was in John Palmer's book where he said that batch sparging gave lower extraction rates. (?) Am I misunderstanding what he wrote?Thank you for your help.Darin