#1 johnpreuss

johnpreuss

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1460 posts
  • LocationWay Up North Minnesota

Posted 19 December 2009 - 10:07 PM

Ok, I made my first all grain batch about a month ago and bottle it about 10 days ago. So I crack one open tonight and it's not real fizzy... then I give it a taste, winey sour taste. I can't really decide if it's vinegary or sour wine. So, what happened? I'm pretty new to brewing this was my 8th batch but have never had sanitation problems before. Not to say it couldn't have been infected. There isnt anything growing on top but well.. I don't know.Any thoughts??

#2 ncbeerbrewer

ncbeerbrewer

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2210 posts
  • LocationRaleigh NC

Posted 20 December 2009 - 04:05 AM

First off, Welcome to the board. If this beer of yours is sour this was the place to come. This group will set you straight though for sure. My first question would be what sorta beer did you brew? What was the recipe? Can you describe your process too? I think that will get the wheels in motion and someone can try and figure this one out for you. I do know though 10 days after bottling is pretty early to taste a beer so lack of carbonation at that point makes sense. I would suggest almost 4 weeks for it to be acceptable. Cheers.

#3 ChefLamont

ChefLamont

Comptroller of Fear

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 9744 posts
  • LocationAtlanta

Posted 20 December 2009 - 04:29 AM

Yea welcome!ncbeerbrewer is right we need some more details to start the dissection. However, it is already interesting. Sour would imply infection as one of the possibilities, but 10 days is awfully early for that to set in and be noticeable. Is it a light hint or is it a pretty strong taste?

#4 johnpreuss

johnpreuss

Frequent Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1460 posts

Posted 20 December 2009 - 05:58 AM