Jump to content


Photo

2 pitches, 3 outs


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 AGrandDesign

AGrandDesign

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 656 posts

Posted 11 August 2018 - 02:38 PM

wha....?

 

https://www.yahoo.co...-162414074.html


  • 0

#2 maddog

maddog

    Comptroller of badogg

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6382 posts

Posted 12 August 2018 - 12:00 AM

It could happen in MLB now, right? Intentional walk. After that there are a lot of combinations, all including a double play.


  • 0

#3 maddog

maddog

    Comptroller of badogg

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6382 posts

Posted 12 August 2018 - 12:09 AM

Seems like the most likely scenario would be something like this...

 

Out recorded on first pitch

Second batter (out of this world hitter) intentionally walked

third batter hits into double play on his first pitch

 

There are other scenarios, of course, including ones requiring a triple play - and a ton if you include really odd rules. (Illegal pitches, switching batters boxes, etc.)


  • 0

#4 Glacies

Glacies

    Comptroller of Schwanz Hate

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3745 posts

Posted 12 August 2018 - 03:14 AM

First pitch popup, fly out, ground out whatever

Balk

Second pitch double play.

#5 maddog

maddog

    Comptroller of badogg

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6382 posts

Posted 12 August 2018 - 03:48 AM

Yeah that's the sort of unusual scenario I was referring to. Although I don't think it's officially called a balk without runners on base.
  • 0

#6 ER Pemberton

ER Pemberton

    Comptroller of Forum Content

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 27546 posts

Posted 12 August 2018 - 07:36 AM

I hope they don't get too crazy with some of these rules.  I don't mind small mods to the game if they think it's necessary or it just makes sense but the pitch clock is making me a little nervous.  Mound visits being controlled seems okay.  I remember when I played softball... if the game went past the one hour mark, you began your at-bat with a 2-2 count.  You couldn't really take a pitch.  I understand it but I didn't like it.  :D



#7 davelew

davelew

    Comptroller of ACMSO That Are Not Beans

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11792 posts
  • LocationReading, Massachusetts

Posted Yesterday, 08:52 PM

Doesn’t batting out of order lead to an out without a pitch being thrown?
  • 0

#8 maddog

maddog

    Comptroller of badogg

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6382 posts

Posted Yesterday, 09:54 PM

Doesn’t batting out of order lead to an out without a pitch being thrown?

 

It's a complicated rule. IIRC, the only time there's a penalty is when the batter who batter early gets on base and that is recognized before the next hitter sees a pitch. 


  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users