#1 Deerslyr

Deerslyr

Disliker of Nut Kicking

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 23807 posts
  • LocationGod's Country!

Posted 22 February 2018 - 07:52 AM

Thinking about getting one.  Would like a reliable meter, but one that is not going to break the bank.  I don't even know what the price range should be on one of them, but assume I'm on a budget.

#2 HVB

HVB

No Life

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 18067 posts

Posted 22 February 2018 - 07:56 AM

Omega PHH-7011  going to be about 100-120 all in.  I have that and a MW-102 from Milwaukee and the Omega is hands down better IMO.

I have no experience with the uber cheap ones on amazon.

#3 Big Nake

Big Nake

Comptroller of Forum Content

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 53927 posts

Posted 22 February 2018 - 08:08 AM

My first one was a Milwaukee PH55 pen-style meter. It was terrible. It pretty much never worked even right out of the box. I have talked with people who bought Hanna meters and other models of Milwaukee like the 102 and had good results but also not-so-good results. A good brewer recommended the Omega 7011 and I went with it. It's been very solid now for years. You have to put storage solution into the cap to keep the probe wet and at the proper pH which is very easy to do with this model. You can also use a Q-tip to gently clean the probe if you ever see any schputz on it. This one is easy to calibrate and it comes with 4.0 and 7.0 solution as well. One trick (given to me by a Milwaukee tech person) is to soak the probe in white distilled vinegar overnight if the meter ever begins to read incorrectly. I have never had to do that with the Omega. Remember too that people use meters for all sorts of things including gardening, aquariums, etc. and some of the cheaper ones might be more suited to those hobbies. Here you're going to be submerging the probe into wort which can get funky eventually. Always rinse the probe thoroughly when you're done and you should be good.

#4 matt6150

matt6150