20 replies to this topic

#1 Big Nake

Big Nake

Comptroller of Forum Content

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 53518 posts

Posted 16 May 2017 - 01:07 PM

I just got an email about this. Did we discuss it here once before or no? LINK.

I typically boil with my lid on but skewed... there is an opening of a couple inches or so. When I was brewing at the Brew-On-Premise before I brewed at home, the copper kettles used to boil the wort had hinged lids on them. If you stirred or added hops, etc., you closed the heavy lid down tight over the kettle when you were done. We made a lot of different styles at that place and never had a bad batch so I guess I knew about the lid thing based on that.

#2 Bklmt2000

Bklmt2000

Five Way Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10650 posts
  • LocationCincinnati, OH

Posted 16 May 2017 - 01:17 PM

I boil topless.  B)

I keep the lid off during the boil, mainly b/c i used to get some major boilovers when i was a newbie, and I hate cleaning up wort boilover crud.

I don't know if it really helps limit DMS production or not; never had DMS in any of my beers (that I could tell, anyway).

#3 positiveContact

positiveContact

Anti-Brag Queen

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 68886 posts
  • LocationLimbo

Posted 17 May 2017 - 03:41 AM

so here I was thinking everyone boiled with the lid off.  my mind is blown.

#4 Poptop

Poptop

Frequent Member

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5011 posts
  • LocationCoconut Creek, FL

Posted 17 May 2017 - 05:29 AM

Lid off, never chance a boil over (no matter how good they smell). Also I never leave the kettle after hop additions. Anyone else get huge boil overs from hops?

#5 Big Nake

Big Nake

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 53518 posts

Posted 17 May 2017 - 05:44 AM