#1 zymot

zymot

Comptroller of Small Amounts of Money

• Patron
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 25569 posts
  • LocationMortville

Posted 06 April 2009 - 07:34 PM

OK I have been brewing beer for 5 years. I have many all grain batches under my belt. Ever since I read "The Complete Joy of Homebrewing" I have wanted to make some mead.I am thinking a Raspberry mead. I could start off with a straight mead, but I know I really want to make a raspberry mead.I have downloaded & read hightest's mead instructions. I know not to boil the honey and plan on following hightest's nutrient schedule. I have Ken Schramm's book. I can get fresh honey direct from the beekeeper at the Farmer's market. So I am set thereWhat else does the neophyte mead maker need to know?I have a few questions:What about fermentation temps? What is a practical high/low range?How much head space is required for primary fermentation? I have 5 gallon cornies I can use, or I have 6 gallon brewing buckets?How long is a typical primary fermentation? (secondary is how ever long it takes - I am not worried)What process for adding raspberries is the path that is most likely to be a success?Yeast. I can make a starter and have access to White Labs yeast. I have nothing against dry yeast. Any recommendations?What else should I know?zymot

#2 BikeBrewer

BikeBrewer

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 362 posts
  • LocationKitchener, Ontario

Posted 06 April 2009 - 08:16 PM

I made a raspberry mead and it is very acidic. I think I needed to back-sweeten it or use more honey at the start to balance it out. I love the colour, aroma, and taste, other than that.

#3 armagh

armagh

Grumpy Frost Giant

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6705 posts
  • LocationBandit Country

Posted 07 April 2009 - 04:57 AM